Labour achieves historic wins in Plaistow and St Paul’s Cray as support surges across Bromley

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Labour gained four seats in the London Borough of Bromley council elections. It now holds 12 seats on Bromley Council, the highest number in the borough since 1978.

Alisa Igoe and Tony McPartlan achieved a significant win in Plaistow ward having sought to speak to as many residents as possible and having campaigned on a platform of local issues and community engagement. They become the first Labour councillors in the newly-redrawn ward in Bromley’s history.

Two council seats were gained from the Conservatives in the reformed St Paul’s Cray ward. Chris Price and Rebecca Wiffen secured hard-fought wins in an incredibly tight race, while a third Labour candidate, Tim Westwood, came close to victory but missed out by a narrow margin.

Alisa Igoe said: “We are delighted to have been elected in Plaistow. We spoke to thousands of residents about what they wanted and shared our vision for a better Bromley. Thank you to every voter who put their trust in us, our brilliant campaign organiser Owen Wittekind and everyone who supported the campaign.”

Tony McPartlan said: “I’m elated, excited and overwhelmed but we are both determined to do our best for the community. We knocked on every door in Plaistow, above all promising that as councillors we will regularly knock on doors, be visible in the community and help as many people as we can. The work of representing everyone in Plaistow starts now.”

Chris Price said: “We are so pleased to be elected to represent the people of St Paul’s Cray. We will be here for you, your family and our community. Thank you to everyone who voted for us and those whose hard work made this a reality.”

Rebecca Wiffen said: “A huge thank you to everyone who supported Chris, Tim and I on the St Paul’s Cray campaign. I am honoured to have been elected, and look forward to taking up my seat on the council.  We will seek to make sure St Paul’s Cray is no longer a forgotten corner of the borough.”

Labour also retained all eight seats held in the following wards:

  • Clock House ward (Jeremy Adams, Jessica Arnold, Josh King)
  • Crystal Palace & Anerley ward (Ruth McGregor, Ryan Thomson)
  • Penge & Cator ward (Kathy Bance MBE, Simon Jeal, Kevin Kennedy-Brooks)

Overall, including Labour and other parties’ gains in the borough, the Conservatives’ majority on Bromley Council has been slashed from 40 councillors to just 14, the lowest margin since the 1998 election. Full local election results are available here.